Website Proposal

Our history…

Founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC in 1908, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college-trained women. To trace its history is to tell a story of changing patterns of human relations in America in the 20th century. The small group of women who organized the Sorority was conscious of a privileged position as college-trained women of color, just one generation removed from slavery. They were resolute that their college experiences should be as meaningful and productive as possible. Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded to apply that determination. As the Sorority grew, it kept in balance two important themes: the importance of the individual and the strength of an organization of women of ability and courage. As the world became more complex, there was a need for associations which cut across racial, geographical, political, physical and social barriers. Alpha Kappa Alpha’s influence extends beyond campus quads and student interest. It has a legacy of service that deepens, rather than ends, with college graduation. The goals of its program activities center on significant issues in families, communities, government halls and world assembly chambers. Its efforts constitute a priceless part of the global experience in the 21st century.

But there’s one thing missing…

I am the Vice President of the Omicron Gamma Chapter at the University of Houston- Downtown. We currently have a website but it has not been updated in over a year. I am often asked by prospective candidates, “When will your website’s calendar be updated?” or “How do I find information on your website?” Those are the most embarrassing questions that I hear often. Donors and non-profit organizations have hard time locating information on our current website, which has caused some to overlook our chapter. Compared to other organizations on campus, our website needs a lot of working improvements. My organization has rich culture and our chapter’s website should reflect that.

Let’s get specific…

What we lack on our website: Our address isn’t listed on the homepage, Contact us link is missing, and a “Donate” link.

New features that can be added to the website: links to Facebook, Twitter, Instagram.

What can be improved? Add sound, a guestbook sign-in, and a list of members what officer positions they hold.

Pages to be added: Chapter Members Login, History, Philanthropy/Service, Gallery (Albums) Pictures/Videos, Calendar, News, Links, Graduate Chapter, National Website, and UHD homepage.

I’m the person for the job…

I wouldn’t say that I am over qualified in building a website from scratch but I do possess the skills to get the job done. I am in the process of obtaining a Professional and Technical Writing degree. In the program I have acquiring extensive writing and editing skills. I have been designing web pages for about two years. I am proficient in HTML, CSS and Javascript. On the development front, I am familiar with a PHP and MySQL. I have used Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign extensively in my Professional Writing courses. I also have a niche in Search Engine Optimization, which I am sure will come in handy, with generating traffic to our website.

I’ve given you my organization’s rich history, told you what was wrong with our current website and what my qualifications in fixing it. Now, all I need is your support in revamping our website!

Leave a Reply

